Home Back

Facebook Account for Business Only

Facebook for Business Only

How to setup your Facebook login for business only.

Facebook has no "Business Only" setting for users who are not an active Facebook user but need to manage their business on Facebook. These professionals have made the choice not to communicate with friends and family via Facebook, but since their customers are on Facebook they need to maintain a professional presence. This guide is a collection of best practices on how best to minimize the personal presence of a Facebook user while still optimizing the potential the Facebook social network has for Business.

Don't Create Duplicate Accounts

Most important is not to create duplicate Facebook accounts. Facebook guidelines mandates a person must only have one login and requires business pages to be managed via a personal login. This guide is for Facebook logins which will be used professionally by a person with no other Facebook login. Facebook has the capabilities to properly separate your person social communications from you professional Facebook Pages and Groups.

Limit Friend requests on Facebook

Facebook for Business Only Menu Settings

Limit who can send personal friend requests. Customers will "Like" or "Follow" a business. "Friend" requests are a Facebook feature used exclusively on personal profiles.

Facebook for Business Only Settings Privacy
  1. Log into the Facebook profile page
  2. Click the Edit Account menu
  3. Select the "Settings" option
  4. Select the "Privacy" section
  5. Select "Edit" for "Who can send you friend requests?"
  6. Set the value to "Friends of Friends"
Facebook for Business Only Who Can Contact Me

Hide a Personal Profile on Facebook

It is best to not have an inactive profile be found. Facebook does not have a "Hide" option for personal profile, instead these setting changes will restrict the visibility of a personal profile.

  1. Return to the "Privacy" section of the Account Settings used above
  2. Select "Edit" for "Who can look you up using the email address you provided?"
  3. Set the value to "Friends"
  4. Select "Edit" for "Who can look you up using the phone number you provided?"
  5. Set the value to "Friends"
  6. Select "Edit" for "Do you want other search engines to link to your timeline?"
  7. Set the value to "No"
Facebook for Business Only Who Can Look Me Up

Limit Personal Posts

Facebook for Business Only Settings Timeline And Tagging

Block others from posting to your inactive personal profile.

  1. From the Edit Account menu
  2. Select the "Settings" option
  3. Select the "Timeline and Tagging" section
  4. Select "Edit" for "Who can post on your timeline?"
  5. Set the value to "Only Me"
Facebook for Business Only Who Can Add Things To My Timeline

Limit Tagging

"Tagging" is a Facebook feature to automatically communicate to and grow a social network. Restricting the Facebook Tagging feature further hides an inactive Facebook profile.

  1. Return to the "Timeline and Tagging" section of the Account Settings used above
  2. Select "Edit" for "Review tags people add to your own posts before the tags appear on Facebook?"
  3. Set the value to "On"
  4. Select "Edit" for "Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded?"
  5. Set the value to "No One"
Facebook for Business Only How Can I Manage Tags

Turn Off Chat

Facebook for Business Only Turn Off Chat

The Facebook chat feature can show others when a user is logged in. There is no need for the chat feature on inactive Business only profiles since all communications will originate from the Business not the person.

Facebook for Business Only Turn Off Chat For All Friends
  1. Select the Chat Options menu on the lower right-hand corner of the page
  2. Select the "Turn Off Chat" option
  3. Change the setting to "Turn off chat for all friends"